Bread and Circuses

Bread and Circuses’ is the cancer of democracy, the fatal disease for which there is no cure. Democracy often works beautifully at first. But once a state extends the franchise to every warm body, be he producer or parasite, that day marks the beginning of the end of the state. For when the plebs discover that they can vote themselves bread and circuses without limit and that the productive members of the body politic cannot stop them, they will do so, until the state bleeds to death, or in its weakened condition the state succumbs to an invader—the barbarians enter Rome.” – Robert Heinlein

That was the quote on Larry Correia’s blog post. I’m inclined to agree. I hinted at the double edged sword of modern popular culture. Ironic, the post before this was me being a happy fanboy about a crossover between two Macross shows. Hell, even at the time of this writing, I’m listening to the medley. But then, I understand that there is more at stake.

Call it hateful, call it not politically correct. But to be frank? The electorate cares more about Kim Kardashian and Tom Cruise. They’re more willing to assuage their progressive happy-feely-good rather than decide to roll up their sleeves. The media doesn’t report, and while I’ll be bombarded by a certain acquaintance with news articles and whatnot. So what? Has it received the needed focus from the nightly news? The talking heads that aren’t on Fox news? Have any of the politicos and mainstream journalists done much?

 

Un-bloody-likely. This is why I continue to believe, to fight on. Regroup. Reload. Reengage. I’m not gonna bow down to despair as I see the looming crisis. Surely I’ll keep to my Japanese Anime and Video Games, but I know when work needs to be done, it needs to be done.

 

Unfortunately, it seems to me America has been sharply divided to the point that, while there isn’t a shootign war, we can see the start of a possible cultural and social cold war.

 

Lord Help Us All, but I shall keep on fighting. Just to show there are still those of the new and upcoming generations who have not fallen fully into the pit.

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Life, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bread and Circuses

  1. Curlywolf says:

    There isn’t a shooting war YET my anime loving friend. Some of the more cynical and nasty among my friends predict it to happen 16-18 months out. Why? because once the dolist grasshoppers realize there’s no money coming from Uncle Obammy anymore…the bloodshed starts and once it starts..I’m thinking a great many people that link similar to us are not going to STOP until all the dolist grasshoppers and the leftists politicians, a few on the right and the hate mongers that brought us to this…are ALL dead.

Leave a Reply

