A Look Back

Wow, it really is 2013 isn’t it?

You know there are certain things you here that brings out a sense of nostalgia and longing? Like a song perhaps. A familiar locale. A kind memory. Anything? It’s been twelve or so years since my family moved from the middle of the Pacific Ocean, right next to the deepest trench in the world. On one of the most politically corrupt territories the United States possesses. And around eight or nine years since my mother got Naturalized and by extension, I did as well. What a decade huh, I guess this would’ve been my first post, but I don’t exactly had much to say at the time, or rather, I didn’t hear a song that brought much to the forefront.

Now the song that brought me back isn’t some super old song from my youth, or anything in the present bringing about a retrospective mood, where I would look back on what I’ve accomplished thus fa. Well two songs were the cause of all that to be honest.The first was from my very first ever MMORG, Ragnarok Online, and it’s the Prontera theme. As much as I love the industriousness and steampunkish feel that Steel Me has (Einbroch theme), every novice had to start somewhere, and regardless if on the official servers or on a private servers, Prontera was everyone’s starting point, and a whole lot of people’s homes.

I made it a point though to stay in the smog infested city of Einbroch, but this still brings memories. Probably like when EuroRO was merged into fRO.

I guess it is hopelessly nostalgic. I played this game back in middle school and high school, and it harkened back to older, simpler times I would say. Back in the housing boom and the when life seemed simpler. Now we’ve got games like World of Tanks and Skyrim and I guess i just long for something simple like it. The memories, it is a vice grip on my heart. I miss my old sniper. I know iRO is still there, but my original server, FaithRO, was disbanded a year or two ago. I don’t know if I’ll go back to the Rune-Midgarts Kingdom or not, but it pokes a hole in my heart every time I hear that music.

And this is just self explanatory. From the same time frame, same reasons. All the anime I watched came around this time. Kanon, Gundam, etc etc. Rewatched My Neighbor Totoro and other Miyazaki films. So yes, I need to break off here and get my nostalgia fix.

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Anime, Girls Und Panzer, Life, Macross, Strike Witches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

