Quick Thought: Food and Cooking

I think I’ve made it clear here and on facebook that I like to cook. I think it was because I wanted to be self-sufficient, and maybe a bit of my romantic side coming out and I think every guy should be able to cook something past pasta or simple foods. So my best foods, or rather, staple food would often be Japanese-style curry, chicken adobo, and various other Filipino dishes. This being the Lenten season, I kinda went and bought some salmon (at the protest of my wallet) and at first. didn’t know what to do with it.

Should I slice it into sashimi? Bake it and wait? Or do something else?

 

Clearly I decided to do something else. I just set the stove on high for the frying pan, and medium for the saucepan. Salted the salmon steaks and tossed half a stick of butter, some wasabi,  a bit of flour, and a dash of soy sauce to make the sauce, and then pan-seared the salmon with some oil to keep it from sticking.

It came out awesome. Shame I didn’t have any good drinks to wash it down with and don’t intend to drink alcohol during Lent.

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Food, Life, Quick Thought. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick Thought: Food and Cooking

  1. mwnanamai says:

    I bake cakes when I feel lonely … it makes my girl-friend laugh of her ass off :”What kind of manly impulse makes you bake”?

    But some cooking experience is always good. 😉

    • Cooking isn’t gender based in my opinion. You either know how to craft something truly edible and awesome or you make mud.

      • mwnanamai says:

        Depends a bit on the culture and the complexity of the foodstuff that is common, for example from people around me cooking is mostly a women’s skills, but men that like African cuisine know how to cook a bit while those that like European cuisine don’t know how to cook.

        I have uncles who cook great food, but the reason seems to be that they like to eat a lot African dishes, while most people who prefer pasta and rice show lesser skills. Male backing is not really a guy thing around here, so my GF can bust my balls about it I don’t mind too much.

Leave a Reply

