Quick Thought: The Centurion 7/1 Tier 9 UK Medium Tank

So, I normally have a bunch of tanks I have in my Garage that comes and goes as I please. So far though only four in particular have withstood the test of time and me being low on credits. The M4A3E2 Sherman “Jumbo”, T26E4 Super Pershing, the Pzkfw V Panther/M10, and the T29 Heavy Tank. The Cromwell and Comet fell out of use and their crews awaiting redistribution to future tanks, and is the similar story elsewhere. The Centurion I was fun, but was increasingly annoyed at its inability to really do much damage in anything above its own tier. So with that, we get to the meat of this little quick thought.

 

bannernoname

 

 

 

The Centurion 7/1 is my SECOND Tier 9 tank. I’ve already had success with the E-50, finding it to be a beefier Panther with a heavier hitting gun, therefore transferred my Panther crew up the line. That said, last night it seems the stars aligned and hell froze over to afford me all those wins in the Centurion 7/1.

In the past 24 hours, I’ve had 26 battles with the Centurion 7/1 (counting via replay files) and I’ve lost only…3 or 4 of those? That’s a W/L ratio of what, 81% Wins? (Whee fuzzy maths) Officially in the past 24 hours I’ve had 52 games, with 17 of those being losses, which brings it to a victory percentage in the 60% range. I was in heaven, and I was amazed as I watched my average tier go from 5.40-ish to 5.67 in a span of 5 or so hours. Already

And all because I’ve found the Centurion 7/1 to be as such:

She is quick to respond. Aside from anything in lag and module damage, she turns quickly and obeys my whims. She’s excellent in hugging the terrain, not too high yet not too low, her best friends are slight rises from which I can be protected with a hull down position, allowing the Centurion 7/1’s gun depression to work well with its nicely sloped turret roof and frontal hull, producing a nearly endless number of ricochet or reduced damage hits when properly put in such an angle. Shooting from corners in urban fighting, the placement of the turret means as long as there is a bit of rubble to moderately protect the tracks, shots will bounce off the front plate and turret if I position myself right, although it does come at a cost since it’s risky and more than likely means I eat damage.

My biggest worry and annoyance is ammo rack damage, meaning my current reload of 10 seconds doubles to 20, and gun damage basically turn this tank into a close range (less than 50 meters) brawler. HESH isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, preferring the stability and ease of the standard APCR, I’ve only employed HESH a few times, and many times inappropriately. So I stick with what I know. In terms of the tank, it’s not a quick tank especially in comparison to other tanks of its tier, but rather average. It can make to a second flank to reinforce or back to base to cap, but I wouldn’t advise it.

It’s best supporting right behind the main line, and with its speed relative to most other tanks in its tier, can easily find or go to an advantageous position and hold the ground while slower and much more heavier armored catch up, from there the line can be pushed or reinforced, with the Centurion 7/1 dealing damage, tracking or killing lights and mediums, and often times delivering the killing blow. This doesn’t mean it’s bad in many other ways, but it’s best utilized in hilly or rutted terrain where it can effectively hull down, or behind buildings, rocks, or slopes to protect it from artillery.

In all, like most tanks, it requires a bit of a time to learn and use effectively. Angling, Diamond, battle-space awareness and position are fine and dandy lessons, but one must also think quickly and make snap decisions, and also play with a bit of a risk as well. No tank is safe, and while some tanks are favored, it always ends up on the shoulders of the tanker in question to utilize the advantages of his or her own pixel tank, as well as to mitigate the disadvantages.

So far though, I’ve fallen in love.

Edit: And so far, I’ve been told I’ve have much to learn. I acknowledge that.

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Game Mechanics, Medium Tanks, Quick Thought, Video Games, World of Tanks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Thought: The Centurion 7/1 Tier 9 UK Medium Tank

  1. Mwnanamai says:

    Been A LOOOOOONG time I got a chance to play WoT, partly because of uni and partly because the few fun time I got I wasted on HoI3.

    I hope to return to this after the exams, maybe we could do a session together, albeit I think I only have up to tier 6.

Leave a Reply

