On The Other Game and World of Tanks

So, in order to make this blog post as WoT Forum friendly, the game by Gaijin will be henceforth referred to as ‘The Other Game’ or TOG.

-cough-

In terms of its visuals, hands down TOG has it down pat. It’s insanely pretty even in the arcade mode that was featured. And watched until I saw the gameplay.  Gameplay wise,  TOG isn’t World of Tanks. I understand that there will be different battle modes specifically for either keeping tanks versus tanks, or if you want to be endlessly strafed by fighters, there is the full on mode where eventually tanks, planes, and ships will be implemented. That game mode I’ll gladly sit out. I already rage at artillery and Orussian Easy Mode Bias; why would I want to add a F4U Corsair first lumping shittons of rockets and .50BMG rounds at me, before a volley form an off short floating battery pulverizes my remains?

I’ll stick to tank versus tank. But leaves me with something rather worryingly. The arcade mode’s artillery function is AI controlled, and is more like an FPS game. Choose a location, await incoming rounds. Of course the fire will be less accurate than Arty in WOT, even with 8.6, but at the same time it’s spread out, and I’m not too sure if that’s a good thing, or would I prefer WoT’s user-controlled artillery. Again until I give it a try, I dunno.

Now my pockets aren’t as deep as certain retired members of the Bundesheer, but I’ve invested close to 500USD into WoT. Yes I’m playing that ‘excuse’ as some people are already calling it. It went into premium time, tanks, free experience, gold shells, what have you. Will i do the same for TOG? I dunno. I was a standard account holder for nearly a year before I did premium for WoT. I saw no noticeable difference until I hit Tier 6. Will this be the same for TOG? I don’t know, again. As for the tanks, someone made the comment that with two tank trees for a beta, TOG already has more real tanks than WoT ever has.

So whoop-te-do. It’s difficult comparing apples to oranges. While in WoT the many different Marks/Variations/A,E numbers are in one vehicle, it seems like their aerial aspect, in order to facilitate their garage battles aspect, TOG has a new tank for each Mark. Like having two Catalinas, one is different in that you can land on solid ground with the addition of retractable landing gear.

In the end, I’m still not sold on it. Much like Jeremy Clarkson at the end of the Vietnam Special, there are good sides, but I’ve not seen anything but a pretty looking game with gameplay and UI that has yet to really sell itself to me. I’m more willing to engage in virtual combat between a Type 99 and an M1A2 Abrams in BF4 than I am willing to try to control a Stug III and see my shots be ineffective for like, four shots and then get a lucky hit, praying the same doesn’t happen to me.

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Video Games, WarThunder. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

