On Northern Hime/Dutch Harbour and Icy Water

About twelve days ago, Kantai Collection got their summer event going. A nod to the Aleutian Islands and Midway Islands campaign, it is proving to be one of the most trollish and annoying events known, though unlike other events which required months and months and months of stockpiling, hours of sparkling, and a nearly endless chant of forgiveness and mercy from RNG-chan/Error-chan and her minions, the Compass-fairies, the event was also accessible for those who aren’t of such level of OCDness.

The event was considered tough, but a scaling system allowed lower leveled players such as myself at a crack at least one or two of the event maps. I’m quite content on only getting only past E-2, but it seems, life has something else in store for me.

As this was going on, little did I know some other social media event was happening. Called the “Ice Bucket Challenge”, it involves either donating money to the ALS Association (Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or Lou Gehrig’s Disease) or getting doused in icy-cold water, end-of-match-spill-contents-of-drinks-cooler-on-coach sports game style.

Many famous people and regular folks have done it, raising awareness of the disease and being a trendy thing for social media. Many have just written checks, many had perverted the idea and used it to get brownie points and not mention the disease or anything, and some have written a cheque, and then also dunked water on themselves or had someone do it for them.

I first became aware of the challenge when Bill Gates posted his reply to Mark Zuckerberg, and it seemed I’m only seeing it now.

Hell just earlier I saw Former-First Lady Laura Bush dunk her husband because he was attempting to wuss out and just write a cheque.Although of course people were quick to merely fill the AP video’s comments with negativity.

Even the International Lord of Hate, Larry Correia, did the challenge after being nominated by another author (and half his fanbase).

Things got into a…cold awakening yesterday.

My best friend, Matthew, had been nominated, and in turn nominated my roommate, who in turn nominated me. So to keep up the cool kids (and the fact my fleet is in the repair dock for another crack at E-2), I’m doing this. If anyone who looks at this blog, I do urge you to donate if you’re able, to the ALS Association as well as other association or group committed to helping to eradicate a particular disease.

So…here goes.

Nominated my sister and my cousin, whom I’m tagging on Facebook.

 

That’s also quite a lot colder than I thought…

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

