Quick Thought: Situation Normal – All Foch’d Up

My condolences to Marshall Ferdinand Foch, but that was actually a ‘clean’ curse word issued by many tankers after meeting the AMX 50 (155) “Foch” Tank Destroyer. Armored with a good slope and a dangerous gun that requires me a little bit of swallowing the brave pill even after defecating in my pants to properly attack and defend against.

But right now, my life is coasting, in rough seas really. Speaking of the seas, I had made it into the World of Warships Alpha Test in its second wave, and that’s the end of that, considering I’m under NDA. Speaking of things I shouldn’t be talking about, two members of my family were struck with illnesses and I am having some really bad twinge-like pain on my right foot on the ring toe up to the back of the heel. I dunno…

Gaming-wise, I started playing Aura Kingdom with friends, and now I know why the chibi-goddess and emperor of all radios my good friend Yekaterina is so good at games. He will use the game’s own system against it and soon he and more advanced guildmates are soloing bosses and doing events no one in their level should be able to do. We’re on the second server, in-game name for primary (Ranger/Bard) is IJN_Zuikaku and secondary (Gunner) is IJN_Yuubari. It’s a fun little MMORPG that reminds me of Ragnarok Online.

I’ve given World of Tanks a bit of a break, there are some things I want to settle or at least let it pass with my current clan (STGGA), though the possibility to drop clan tags is once again in the future. Having repurchased the FV4202, I’ve yet to fully replay it, though its old crew is back in it. I am tempted to repurchase not only the Centurion I but the Caernarvon as well as the Matilda Black Prince, if only to get back to leveling my British crew and being more diverse in my lineup. But we shall see.

On Kantai Collection, I have the second monitor completely devoted to the Firefox window with my API on it, and listening to Akatsuki bully me at eight in the morning for my alarm (only to have my alarm go off as well) is kind of nice. But since my last run with AL/MI, I have been in a severe bauxite shortage and not running anything (mainly also because of other games).

Also, RNG has saw fit to grant me a Taihou. The LSC involved meant my replenished Bauxite supply was completely shattered again. But it was well worth it I think.

I’ve given up on War Thunder’s Ground Forces. I can’t get past the grind, the unpolished polished game (many hiccups) and the sheer fact that I get more enjoyment from my one or two battles of WoT than I ever would in WT:GF. Flying in WT makes me crash into a mountain I swear wasn’t there a second before. Or as my friends call it “your natural enemy…cliffs (or any tall geographic feature you fall off, crash into, or die from)”.

Speaking of games I’ve not logged on for a while, I haven’t gotten around to finishing the various many games of Civilization V I have, or taken my Aurora flying in Star Citizen lately. But since in Civ V, all I’ve done was bumrush the Forbidden Palace and get my gold and culture on a steamroll, I tend to end up going for Diplomatic and Cultural victory. Kinda hard to lose when not only are other nations listening to my pop music and wearing my blue jeans, but by greasing the wheel, I have almost all of the City States under my beck and call. Something I think, would make the folks over at VoC laugh.

On the work front? It’s very tiring. 1330 to 2200 is a good shift (though I wish to get the 0330 to 1200 shift next time around), but I have some coworkers I have a mind to keep my mouth shut about. Management is…management, those above me in rank are a hit or a miss, only a few I would really follow out of respect of the person and the rank rather than just a rank. The physical and mental strain show sometimes but it’s often after some other thing like say, a relative getting suddenly ill, brings it out. I aim to take the Foreign Service Officers Test next year, though looking through the study guide makes me realize I wished I still had a lot of my old textbooks and my free access to stuff like The Economist and Foreign Policy.

Politics wise? What the hell was this #GamerGate stuff, I’m not too aware of it, since I merely play games for enjoyment, couldn’t care less of any other gaming review personality that isn’t Ben “Yatzhee” Crowshaw’s Zero Punctuation. So this propping up came as a surprise to me, especially if Professor Reynolds posted a few things about it over at Instapundit. I won’t even bother with the current foreign and domestic policy stuff, I don’t need to get my blood boiling at 0225 HRS. Or anything really, that has to deal with the crap spewed by some people in the SF/F crowd that causes Larry Correia to go fisking things.

Anyways, stress at work, insecurities at home, annoyance with the news media…typical SNAFU. At least I have KanColle, Aura Kingdom, World of Tanks, and World of Warships to carry me until Anime USA in October and the Fall Season start.

But in reality…I just need more sleep, something I should do now.

Edit: I should really stop editing this post and go to sleep. Lynette is a patient daki at the very least.

 

Art Credits, because it seems WordPress borked my layout.

Akatsuki and Penguin Pillow by musouzuki on pixiv

Diplomatic Victory Screenshot from Civilization wiki.

 

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Kantai Collection, Life, Quick Thought, Trials and Tribulations, Video Games, World of Tanks, World of Warships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

