Quick Thought: Fall 2014 Anime Season

With the end of the summer season upon us, it is time for me to look forward to what I can expect for this season. And truth be told, it’s gonna be a bit of a doozy. I do want to thank the staff over at Random Curiosity for creating their usual short summaries of the upcoming season’s anime. All images are from ANN (Anime News Network).

Reisen on a Computer, drawn by itsutsuki on pixiv.

Reisen on a Computer, drawn by itsutsuki on pixiv.

First off, as of my last count, I am slated to do seven Three Episode Rule posts, as well as definitely watching three OVAs. This will end up taxing me, as I am what is essentially a live-watching blogger, or live blogger, or whatever you call it. I merely obtain the RAWs and the subtitles, use the RAWs for screenshots and framing my summary, then watch the subtitled bits for the actual posts.

No deep thinking, just summation, and a little recap of what I’m thinking in the end.

So, for the six series I’m looking to at least give the Three Episode Rule treatment, in order of airdate:

A16104-2170939386.1405732391

Gundam: Reconguista in G:

There is no doubt about it. The setting is tenuously tied to Universal Century, and the master is returning. Yoshiyuki “Kill-Em-All” Tomino is directing this one, and that alone is enough for me. Set after UC, and nearly a thousand years into the new timeline, the series is promising to be typical Gundam. Explosions, character growth, and mech battles. I can’t wait to see if it’ll end up living to the expectations of the myriad number of Gundam fans out there. I for one am happy to say “my body is ready”.

Airdate: October 2nd

Website: http://www.g-reco.net/

 

motomete

Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete

A supernatural romance, I think I’m loading up too much on romances this season, so this is one of the shows that’ll get a mixed bag TER, mainly because this and Madan no Ou Vanadis airs on the same day. I expect some generic romance with a little twist, but who knows. Will it be like Clannad or Angel Beats!, I’m not too sure. I’m just hoping for a good ride.

Airdate: October 4th

Website: http://ushinawareta-mirai.com/

 

vanadis

Madan no Ou Vanadis:

Another fictional though vaguely historical Europe is the backdrop for another candidate for a Three Episode Rule. Yet another romance. It’ll be TER’d with Motomete mainly because I can’t be arsed to do a dedicated TER for each series, but then again, all plans never survive contact with the enemy, no doubt if I like both and I can’t compress them enough, I will bite the bullet and devote my free time to giving both series the summation and thoughts they deserve.

Airdate: October 4th

Website: http://www.madan-anime.jp/

 

world

World Trigger:

Another one of those “our conventional weapons do jack shit to the aliens” anime. According to Takaii at Random Curiosity, it’s gonna focus a lot more on the characters than the setting. Which is all well and good, but I think I might not go past a TER for this.

Airdate: October 5th

Website: http://www.toei-anim.co.jp/tv/wt/

 

akatsuki

Akatsuki no Yona:

This kinda striked me as interesting. What happens when you toss a sheltered brat out into the real world? Well I dunno, maybe we’ll see with this series right? I look forward to it primarily for its premise. It’d be interesting, if she’ll learn some humility or will end up dying because she couldn’t cope. It’s a definite watch.

Airdate: October 7th

Website: http://www.marv.jp/special/yona/

 

ronja

Sanzoku no Muse Ronja:

Yes I am gonna give what could be the last Studio Ghibli produced work (and a TV show at that), I am gonna give it a Three Episode Rule post. If only because of the name. Sadly I doubt we’ll get anything amazingly hand drawn as expected of a Ghibli work, since it’s being produced by the same blokes who did Sidonia no Kishi.

Airdate: October 11th

Website: http://www9.nhk.or.jp/anime/ronja/

 

OVAs to watch:

 

Ova-poster-hd-notext

Strike Witches: Operation Victory Arrow

This is a no-brainer, am going to be blogging this. It’s Strike Witches. First episode comes out on September 20th in select theatres, though DVD and BD releases are to be released December 12th, with the second and third following the same format. Set between Strike Witches S2 and the Movie, we get to see how Heidemarie is introduced.

Website: http://s-witch.cute.or.jp/movie/

 

A15129-285259933.1383393484

The Idolm@ster Movie:

Another no-brainer, I watched IM@S when it was airing, no reason to not watch this. Though I am a complete neophyte to the games and only came in with the anime. Comes out on October 9th.

Website: http://www.idolmaster-anime.jp/

 

 

pirates

Mouretsu Pirates: Abyss of Hyperspace

The last no-brainer. I thoroughly enjoyed Mouretsu Pirates when it came out, and it was a nice soft-science fiction premise. Not exactly pirates, more a futuristic letter of marque system is the underlying explanation to why there are space pirates. So in a sense, Marika Kato is kinda like a futuristic privateer rather than a true pirate. Comes out November 12th.

Website: http://www.starchild.co.jp/special/mo-retsu/gekijo/

 

Kongou sisters and TV. Art by kakuzatou on pixiv.

Kongou sisters and TV. Art by kakuzatou on pixiv.

Overall Impressions:

This upcoming season is all about hype. I need to finish watching Log Horizon and Hitsugi no Chaika to even think about doing a Three Episode Rule on them, and even then I won’t be blogging either. Both receive such a great following last season that every anime blogger wanting to generate a massive amount of traffic will gravitate to giving what people want.

I’m not one of those. I just write for the hell of it, audience or not. The only ‘hype’ show I see on the list above would be Gundam, and I am honestly hoping it would treat me gently. I know Sanzoku no Musume Ronja will be a hit or miss, depending if the CGI is as smooth as Macross Frontier, or as jarring as Arpeggio.

In all, the shows I chose are what I felt is something I would like to watch. As I start adding on more weight years to my age, to be able to blog about anime is starting to be a chore with this whole full-time job I have. Maybe one day I’ll stop ani-blogging, and blogging in general, but that day isn’t today.

It seems the Fall season is slating to be an action-y romance season, and to be frank I won’t have it any other way. Gives me something to do other than yell at people in World of Warships.

Good Lord ~_~;; How can you T-Bone a cruiser in open water you idiots.

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Akatsuki no Yona, Anime, Gundam: Reconguista in G, Madan no Ou to Vanadis, Quick Thought, Sanzoku no Muse Ronja, Strike Witches, Ushinamareta Mirai wo Mahomet, World Trigger. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Thought: Fall 2014 Anime Season

  1. Nhan Fiction says:

    Looks neat. It should be a fun season regardless.

Leave a Reply

