Acting on a Dream: A Vacation at Last!

 

Now, normally today would’ve been the day I went and released a Three Episode Rule mashup, but I decided not to. Not of any fault of the anime themselves, although I may not be doing anything more than a TER for most of the offerings this season. No, I went and enjoyed myself.

 

For the majority of my 5 day vacation, I had pre-registered and gotten a hotel room for a local anime convention in Washington D.C. called Anime USA. Anime USA is a smaller convention, and while it doesn’t have the crowd or money to really do a lot of programming, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Of the panels offered, I went to:

  1. What is Kantai Collection?
  2. Valkyria Chronicles: A Love Story, A War, and some Snipers
  3. Everything You Need to Know to Write Like You Want
  4. Japanese Schoolgirls Want to Kill Me
  5. Harrumph: A Rulebook of Gentlemanship
  6. Mechapocalypse

Out of those panels, I had taken notes in panels 3 and 4, annoyed the panelist on 1, laughed my ass off on 5 and contributed to the skit, and the childhood memories came out on 2 and 6.

And the Mechapocalypse panel also reintroduced this little annoying ear-worm to my playlist:

But I guess not everyone is looking for that, or my general impression of the con. It was great fun, as the panelist, Haru Menna (who did the Kantai and Schoolgirls panel) and I discussed it. I do love smaller cons due to the greater intimacy between the audience and panelists.

But since most cons are about two things to a lot of people. Loot, and cosplay. Frankly I wanted to go to a lot of panels, especially in the educational track, but all of them were on similar times. So instead of rushing around, I went to the ones where I thought I’d get the most bang for my buck as one would say.

But anyways, the loot!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next, the cosplayers. A few were well done, some…not so great.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A few of the ones that really stood out:

AnimeUSA_2014_07

Tenryuu from Kantai Collection

AnimeUSA_2014_08

Miyafuji Yoshika from Strike Witches

AnimeUSA_2014_06

Aisaka Taiga from Toradora!

AnimeUSA_2014_04

Random Steampunk Person

AnimeUSA_2014_11

“My name is Cmd. Shephard and THIS is my preferred water cooler in the dealer’s room.” – The cosplayer’s actual words as I snapped this photo.

AnimeUSA_2014_13

Haruhara Haruko from FLCL

AnimeUSA_2014_15

Spike Spiegel from Cowboy Bebop

AnimeUSA_2014_33

GLaDOS and Wheatley from the Portal franchise.

AnimeUSA_2014_14

Ultimate Madoka from Puella Magi Madoka Magica

AnimeUSA_2014_40

Jinx from League of Legends

 

Now with that done and out-of-the-way, I managed to make my now annual trip to the Americans in Wartime Museum’s open house. Set in a farm in the town of Nokesville, every year for a weekend the various military vehicles undergoing restoration is brought out for public viewing, alongside demonstrations with reenactors groups. This year it sadly coincided with Anime USA, so I only managed to make the last half of Sunday’s open house by also cutting away at my con schedule. I had monumentally erred on Saturday. There was nothing on my plate until 5pm that day and had woken up early to make the open house on its opening hour. Lo and behold as I made it to the last Metro station and about to swipe my SmartCard to exit the station, I realized I left my keys. In my rush to make the train, I had left the keys at my hotel room in Washington D.C.

Hence my utter annoyance at missing out on a lot of stuff this year. But nevertheless, I did make it to the Open House, and I met a very familiar person.

Me (left) with Nicholas "The_Chieftain" Moran, WarGaming's resident armor expert.

Me (left) with Nicholas “The_Chieftain” Moran, WarGaming’s resident armor expert.

Apart from that, I did take a picture of a lot of tanks. This one especially:

AWM_2014_59

And here’s the gallery:

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In all, I had a pretty enjoyable weekend. I’ll get the first of the Three Episode Rule posts out soonish.

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Acting on a Dream: A Vacation at Last!

  1. atlasbunny says:

    Yoshika here! Excited to find your blog, thanks for sharing! ^_^

Leave a Reply

