Fourteen Years and Still Fresh in the Memory

Never Forget. Picture done by seo tatsuya on Pixiv.

Never Forget. Picture done by seo tatsuya on Pixiv.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

I really need to stop ranting. It looks bad and it flows badly when I re-read my stuff. But eh, for today’s subject, it can’t be helped.

I don’t think it’s worth explaining to folks where I was and what I thought was happening when I was that young. All I know is that the world changed when those planes hit the towers.

Americans, in a sense, are very much like children with ADD. They see their attention span going from place to place to place to place. I noted to work colleagues that the average American’s attention span works in 10 year cycles, and that nothing is ever kept at the forefront of people’s thoughts until something brings it up. Like today.

Americans are so coddled, more worried about Trigger Warnings and Asterisks and the newest, in-vogue item or gossip or celebrity drama. I think it’s mostly immigrants, speaking from personal experience, who remember. It’s mostly those fly over people, who remember. And it’s the people who planned this, and celebrate this, who remember.

For a lot of people now, the attacks of September 11 was some time ago. When they were five or six or three years old. For me I was a middle schooler, already more in-tune with the world through my thirst for current events and military hardware. I don’t think I’ll ever forget.

But there will be a vast majority of Americans who box this memory up, not because it is a pain. But because it is an inconvenience. Their long lines at the airport inconvenience. Their ‘oh God the neighbor has so many flags’ inconvenience. It isn’t gonna get them what they want when they want it. So it’ll stay in the depths of their memories until it is time for them to display it to the rest of the people who forget to show they haven’t forgotten.

But I haven’t.

And this is why, two years and nine months ago, after some initial confusion in what to do with my life, I became a Federal officer. It feels a bit odd writing this before changing out of my work clothes. But I guess it’s worth it. There has been a reason I don’t comment on too many things political nowadays, because I do respect the job and the dissociation of my conservative views from the uniform. But on days like today, I think it’s alright. I’m always aware why I put on this uniform. Today I solemnly, tenderly recall why I put my right arm up and swore an oath to defend the Constitution of the United States, and its people, from all enemies foreign and domestic.

I have relatives in other parts of the government and in the military. I’ve had relatives fight these extremists in the mother nation. There is no doubt in my mind that the teenage me, sitting in my middle school classroom, watching the second plane hitting the tower, live, on television, will be something I will ever erase from my memories.

Just my random thoughts on today.

I also saw that medievalotaku again nominated me for some blogging award. I know I should’ve done the Liebster he gave me last year, so I have no intention on skipping the Creative Blogger one he gave me.

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Life, Politics, Writings and Roleplay. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fourteen Years and Still Fresh in the Memory

  1. Yep, we must never forget September 11, 2001. For me, it hit so close to home that I could never forget it if I tried.

    Looking forward to seeing your Creative Blogger Award post!

  2. Even though I’m north of the border, I have not forgotten. When the towers were hit, I was in elementary school.

    On an unrelated note, I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award.

Leave a Reply

