Tank Farm 2016

26th Cavalry (PS) and Rider

26th Cavalry (PS) and Rider

And so after the rained out event from last year, I managed to attend, rather briefly I might add, this year’s ‘Open House’ event at the Virginia Museum of Military Vehicles. I’m still suffering from the lingering after-effects of the bronchitis I contracted the past week, and no doubt my boss would’ve preferred if I stayed at home drinking tea. As I mentioned earlier, 2015’s event was cancelled due to the heavy rains that turned the grounds into soft, mushy ground and the demonstration site into what can be best said as a ‘bog’, this year the weather was actually cooperating, with a cool overcast sky and a light breeze, but no rain.

I came initially only to take pictures of two completely restored tanks, the Renault M1917 Light Tank, and the 3-inch Gun Motor Carriage M10 “Wolverine”. What greeted me was the living historian/reenactment group I’m sorta a part of (I’ve not fully joined in reenacting) was due to give a demonstration soon, and what was meant to be a quick trip became a little longer. I of course met up with some regulars, including Rich Eisner of tankvideos.com, and a few others of the reenactors.

But I guess what needs to be shown is the few pictures and video I took of today.

Video of the US 26th Cavalry Philippine Scouts (Living Historian group) demonstrating movement to contact and cavalry tactics.

 

Tank Farm 2016 Gallery

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Life, Tank Destroyers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

