A Long-Awaited Trip – Day One

My long-awaited vacation back to the country of my birth, meeting with relatives who I’ve not seen for ages and meeting friends for the first time physically, but having talked and gamed with them for nearly as long. I hope I can do this more often.

(Written on NH001, KIAD to RJAA)

As I write this segment, the in-flight map on my infotainment console in the headrest before me shows me that we cruise along at a steady 556 miles per hour at 32,000 feet (6 miles up). We’re abeam Anchorage, Alaska, at 600 miles to the southwest. And reaching just a little over the halfway point, I still can’t exactly believe this long-awaited day had come.

I’m on a long-distance trip for pleasure, and as I have Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue playing from the infotainment system, I’ve seen sights that I’ve not seen, or at least remembered, since I was travelling in 2001. The morning went swimmingly, as my mom started handing me contact information of relatives in the Philippines. The first in line at the ticket counter, having checked in beforehand online meant all I needed to do was verify my passport and drop off my luggage.

Going through security was a little bit of a hassle, but not in the manner most people would think, considering where I worked. Some ribbing from colleagues and other airport employees and I boarded my flight. And of course, I took pictures of the whole thing.

And of course, I did promise to catalogue the food I ate, starting with the meatball sub I had prior to the flight, and the lunch on offer by the flight.

The only downside is the fact that Civilization 5 seems to have a corrupted file, and would not load past the opening cinematic. This is a rather dated laptop when I had first gotten it, and with just an integrated graphics card, would struggle on some games even. So after several tries, I’ve given up and continued reading Log Horizon, vol. 3.


(Written on 11/2/2016 after arrival to the Philippines).

That said, when I wrote the above segment on NH001 (KIAD to RJAA), I thought I’d write more but then being stuck on a plane for nearly 14 hours meant when I landed in Narita (RJAA), my only thought was to get to my flight and on the flight from RJAA to Ninoy Aquino International Airport (RPLL) I stumbled across Your Name on the infotainment system and did a blog post on that, completely forgetting to snap pictures of food.

Also it was dark out anyways, so apart from a hazy picture of a wing there was nothing to see.

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

