Quick Thought: Moving Forward

Sleep doesn’t sound too bad either. Art by lilywhite lilyblack on pixiv.

A quick little talk about something that a friend, Sumeragi, sent me and how suddenly Spring 2018 is gonna be a busy time blogging wise for me.

 

So, other things out-of-the-way first. I’m going back to regular series blogging come October 6th. Just one show really caught my eye in the upcoming season in terms of regular blogging, though another would receive the same Three Episode Rule as the other, just unsure so far if I’ll cover it as well.

Secondly, having not watched the last few episodes of Princess Principal, my finale post on it might be delayed a fair bit, probably until October when I actually do have time to reflect on the series. The end of the summer travel season and associated work drama has kept me from even keeping current with stuff. I actually binged Re:CREATORS the day of its last episode due to my work load.

Thirdly, due to the nature of my employer, vacation is determined by seniority. And how is this relevant? Well our duty locations and vacation is decided annually, and it’s that time of the year. This means it’s a good chance I won’t be going to any more cons next year, as it is a goal for me to revisit the Philippines and actually visit Japan. I’m probably gonna have to gameplan that out, since it is the first truly foreign country I’ve been to.

Fourth, Yamato 2202 Episodes 3 to 6 post will be coming out in October as well.

Now, the main focus of this quick thought, is the series I am MOST DEFINITELY blogging come Spring 2017. It is a remake? Reimagining? It is another space opera much like Space Battleship Yamato, and it is the crowning example of what I think Anime should strive for. Characters you can relate with, a plot that isn’t overly simplistic or overly dressed up sophisticated.

It is a story not of good or evil, but of one good matched against another good. Where the question of a benevolent monarchy is better than a corrupt democracy. And of course, I am talking about Legend of the Galactic Heroes. Specifically Legend of the Galactic Heroes: Die Neue These.

It is the second adaptation of Tanaka Yoshiki’s famed novel series, spearheaded by Production I.G. whereas the original were released as OVAs, this is a proper ‘series’. According to Crunchyroll, the first set of episodes will air in 2018, while the next chapter would be released as a set of three animated feature films in 2019. It also seems that Sentai Filmworks will be releasing the series in physical media soon. It is already streaming the series on its own proprietary streaming service.

Now, I am a bit apprehensive at the length of the series. At a single cour run, the episodes have got to be substantial if it is to capture the same spirit as the original, where each season lasted two cours, or 26 episodes. 12 episodes to fit the first ‘season’ might seem like a stretch, but since this is a new adaptation, I can somewhat forgive it. I am quite stoked for this, and I’ll be working on ensuring my biases carry over to the new work in a constructive way, and not just rag it over how the original was better or whatnot.

So yes, that’s what’s going on right now. I’ll end up doing another quick thought in the next few days detailing the yearly Tank Farm event I go to, complete with pictures and hopefully video.

 

About Jusuchin (Military Otaku)

Conservative, Patriotic and an Otaku. Recent grad of George Mason University. I am interested in firearms, politics, Japanese Anime, and military tech.
This entry was posted in Anime, Kino no Tabi, Kino no Tabi -the Beautiful World- the Animated Series, Legend of the Galactic Heroes, Legend of the Galactic Heroes: Die Neue These, Quick Thought, Video Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

